2009 Book Award Winners

The American Library Association announced the 2009 winners for many of their awards, including the Newbery Medal for books for youth and the Michal L. Printz Award for books for teens. Here are the winners and honor books for some of these awards.

Newbery Medal:
Winner: The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman
Honors: The Underneath, by Kathi Appelt; The Surrender Tree: Poems for Cuba’s Struggle for Freedom, by Margarita Engle; Savvy, by Ingrid Law; and After Tupoc and D Foster, by Jacqueline Woodson

Printz Award (for a book written for teens):
Winner: Jellicoe Road, by Melina Marchetta
Honors: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Vol. 2, by MT Anderson; Nation, by Terry Pratchett; Tender Morsels, by Margo Lanagan; and The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, by E. Lockhart

Morris Award (a new award for a debut novel from first-time author writing for teens:
Winner: A Curse as Dark as Gold, by Elizabeth C. Bunce

All of these books are available in either the children’s or teen’s section of the library, with the exception of Tender Morsels, which will be ordered in February.

Anyone read any of these books yet? What did you think? I will be posting my review of The Graveyard Book later in the week, but I’d love to hear more thoughts on these titles. Happy reading!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: