2010 Blue Spruce Award Winner

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is this year’s Blue Spruce Award winner.

For those of you living under a rock, The Hunger Games is one of those books that just took off in popularity and acclaim, and I highly recommend you read it if you haven’t already. It’s an excellent read, fast-paced, full of nonstop action and big emotion,and it’s a great mix of wilderness survival story, science fiction dystopia, and love story. The sequel, Catching Fire, is just as good.

Here’s a brief plot summary from our online catalog: In a future North America, where the rulers of Panem maintain control through an annual televised survival competition pitting young people from each of the twelve districts against one another, sixteen-year-old Katniss’s skills are put to the test when she voluntarily takes her younger sister’s place.

By the way, the 2011 nominees for the Blue Spruce award are now available here. This is one of the only state awards that is chosen only by teens (yep, sadly, I don’t get to vote, but YOU do), and all you have to do is read at least three of these books. Then, find me at the library and tell me you want to vote, and I will give you a ballot you can fill out right then. It’s super easy! You have until January 2011 to vote, so check out the nominees and see if you’re interested in choosing next year’s winner.

Ask me more in the comments if you want, or e-mail, or find me at the library in person.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: