Morris Award Winner 2011

The William C. Morris award is for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature. It’s a new award (started in 2009), and the 2011 winner and honor books were just announced here.

This year’s winner is The Freak Observer by Blythe Woolston. Here’s a brief summary of the book, courtesy of ALA: “Loa, a strong, intelligent, hardworking sixteen-year-old girl experiences a year of loss. While trying to take care of her family and make it through school, she ponders the laws of physics as she tries to understand what can never make sense.” We have this in our new YA books section, call number Y Woolston.

The list of finalists this year are:
Hush, by Eishes Chayil. Y Chayil
Guardian of the Dead, by Karen Healey. Y Healey
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, by Lish McBride. Y McBride
Crossing the Tracks, by Barbara Stuber.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: