Printz Award Winner 2011

The Michael L. Printz award is for excellence in young adult literature (it’s the Newbery for teen books), and the 2011 winner and honor books were just announced here.

This year’s winner is Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.  Here’s a brief summary of the book, courtesy of ALA: “In Ship Breaker, near a drowned New Orleans ravaged by hurricanes and global warming, Nailer and his young crew eke out a meager existence by scavenging materials on the ship-littered coast.” We have this in our YA books section, call number Y Bacigalupi.

Honor books this year are:
Stolen, by Lucy Christopher. Y Christopher
Please Ignore Vera Dietz, by A.S. King. Y King
Revolver, by Marcus Sedgwick. Y Sedgwick
Nothing, by Janne Teller. Y Teller


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: